Posted by: mew | January 31, 2010

focus: week 4

“I just want to focus on one thing at a time.”

— Josh Silver

That’s how I’ve been feeling lately.  It’s a strange turn of events for me, to suddenly feel that I have crystal-clear clarity in certain areas of my life.  If you only knew how much I’ve been getting accomplished… but, of course, you couldn’t know that because this blog has been silent for almost two weeks now.

Two weeks!

I feel almost ashamed.

And yet how can I feel badly about what has essentially been an eye-opening two weeks for me?  How can I feel guilty about finding my stride in my writing, about completely redoing my office space and living room to accommodate both my work and my creative dreams, about clearing space for what I truly want in life to emerge?

I can’t.

I feel badly for letting down my regular readers.  I’ve been touched to receive e-mails and comments from some of you who missed my posts over here… and I kept meaning to write up a stellar blog post ASAP.  I just never found the time.

Focus is emerging now at such a pace that I find it thrilling and scary all at once.  It doesn’t seem to leave room for two blogs at the pace at which I was publishing.  I’m sure everything will slow down soon.  We still have 48 weeks of the year left to go, after all, and if 2010 continues at this pace, I’ll have a book contract by the end of the year.

Well, come to think of it, that doesn’t actually sound bad.  Just a little rushed.

I am continuing to write every day over at my other blog, and enjoying it thoroughly.  My creative focus, at least what you can see in the blog-o-sphere, is likely to continue in that vein:  photography, writing philosophical posts about the garden and nature.  I will try to do better at posting over here, but I expect to keep it to one or at most two posts per week, and I won’t berate myself if the other writing takes precedence.

Those of you who miss me, come on over there and visit anytime.

The week’s thoughts on my word of the year will continue to go here unless I just don’t make it that week, such as happened this last week, when my thoughts ended up scrunched in elsewhere.  Remember that I intend to post one photograph per week representing “focus” to me, however I have perceived my path during those seven days.  The first three weeks are documented here, here, and here.

As far as Creative Every Day goes, I haven’t done too well at documenting my progress so far.  But I’ve written at least a blog post every day, taken lots of photographs, have gotten out the sketchbook, made garden plans, and tackled household organizational problems in a creative fashion.  I will continue to do so, and enjoy visiting the other CED 2010 participants’ blogs.

I’m not sure I’m up to documenting my efforts, though.  Maybe I’m much too into the actual writing at this moment to want to talk about it?

The accountability factor of CED 2010 is something I definitely could use, though.  There isn’t any writer out there who wants to be e-mail buddies with me, just one on one, and report our word totals to each other via e-mail?  Even a once-a-week check-in I feel would be valuable, and certainly we could commiserate over our schedules and stumbling blocks, fête our little triumphs and particularly spectacular sentences.

I do not have any time for a friendly read-through of a manuscript, nor any editing or proofreading at this moment.  Longer term, though, I might be willing to perform these services for a writer friend.  (I used to earn my living as a proofreader, so it might be a valuable service, too.)  Just now, though, I need to let the internal editor take a vacation (except for blog posts) and the creator/artist child come to the fore and play without more time constraints than a day job already places on her.

If you’re interested in such a writer-buddy arrangement, please let me know.

And I do hope all of you can understand about my relatively long absence and my plans for the immediate future.  Running two blogs full tilt can be rather draining of one’s creative battery.  In honor of learning to focus, I’ll be trying to conserve a bit of that energy for another project.

[All of these photos are mine, moments of my week captured on film.]

Responses

  1. Lovely to hear from you again 🙂 No need to apologise – sometimes we all need to focus our energies in different places. But the pendulum always swings back again 🙂

  2. I did miss your posts on this blog, but I see you have had plenty of other important things going…I haven’t visited your other blog much yet, but I plan to start! I like what you have to say, and your photos are lovely. I’m also happy to hear “focus” is working well for you. “Open” is having mixed success over here… Good luck with all the projects, and I’ll visit you at your other blog.

    • Hi, Kathy. I’ve been checking in at yours. I suspect “open,” by its very nature, would be more difficult to perceive as it’s happening in you. Thanks for the compliments!

  3. sweetie, i am so happy that your creativity and focus is blooming! I’ll be checking in at the victory garden regularly…

  4. I did miss the posts on this blog, but I have really enjoyed getting to know you through VG. The posts there are so beautiful and so passionate.

    What book are you working on? I really want to start writing this book (the same one I had planned on doing for NaNoWriMo). But I’m afraid to commit to anything else right now…but maybe in the future I can be a buddy 🙂

    • I’ll e-mail you details of the book project. I understand the fear of committing to writing right now. You do have a lot going on, Alisha. 🙂

  5. Hi Meredith,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your gardening blog…and now to find out you have this one.
    Have a great day.

    • I’m glad you dropped by, Rosey. 🙂 Thanks for visiting the other blog, too!

  6. Forrest Gump said life is like a box of chocolates, but I much prefer to think of it as being like a box of crayons: bright, varied, and always ready to colour my world. Love that photo. 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting Soliloquy today!

  7. I’ll put your other blog in my regular blog list so I don’t miss your daily posts. I’ve been quite busy myself of late and it’s been hard keeping up with one blog, let alone two, so no need for apology. Glad to hear that things are coming into focus for you….I wish you well ~

  8. Your words and photographs are art.
    Joyfully so!

  9. Thank you so much for the drop by a while back! So sorry not to have responded before now. I’m glad you liked the sunset pictures, even with the power lines. I’m just used to taking ones in the desert…no power lines! 🙂

    I love your photos, especially the crayons. Have you found a writer friend, yet?

    Please do drop by again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

