Posted by: mew | November 17, 2009

a series of photographs

A selection of eight photographs taken at dawn on Sunday, the day of our departure from the mountains.  Tendrils of fog swirled around me, dew-spangled web strands sparkled in the grass at my feet, and in the valley below individual house lights winked on, one by one.  At first the irregular dripping of dewdrops from a thousand branches was the most noticeable sound, but the bird chorus slowly swelled until it drowned everything else.

I was amazed to note that the sunrise began dark and colorful, then brightened to a peach and pink loveliness, and then seemed to dim again as the cooler note of blue sky began to dominate, finally reaching the peak of its light crescendo when the fog began to lift and the sun knifed through the blur of white.  At that point I could no longer capture much on film — even though I did try.  (I have a whole series of shots that look like I was attempting to capture mist with my camera.)

I was a little bit sad at the time, not wanting to leave friends who now live so far away and whom I so seldom see anymore.  But photographing the sunrise while standing in my fluffy socks on the back porch did lift my spirits somewhat.

It’s impossible to be too sad as you watch this unfold:

This early-morning photography session counts as my art for November 15th of Art Every Day Month.  I’m behind on posting and want to do a catch-up post where I just report a few of the days together.  For today, however, I’ll be content with posting something to Leah Piken Kolidas’ site, to get going again on regular postings for the challenge.  (It was just a little more difficult to restart life when I returned from my short vacation than I had imagined beforehand.)

Responses

  1. Hi meredith!

    thank you so much for saying hello today! it is so nice to meet you! your photographs are amazing!

    have a super day!
    🙂 melissa

    • Thank you, melissa, for the compliment and the visit!

  2. Stunning stunning stunning!!!!!

    xoxo,
    ja

    aedm

    • Thank you, Julie Ann. You’re too kind, as always 🙂

  3. Such inspiring photography!! Very uplifting images!

    • Judy, thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  4. Moody and luscious 🙂

  5. lovely and moody and peaceful…

    • I hadn’t thought of them as moody, but I just looked again, and you’re right, they are! Thanks for noticing — and for the compliments, Merrilee and Karen 🙂

  6. I love the photo with the sun near the center and the fog in the valley at the bottom (second from bottom). The movement in that picture is amazing, but it also portrays a feeling of absolute stillness. Great photography!

    • That second one from the bottom is my favorite, too. When F. saw it, he proclaimed it “epic.” You are in good company!

      And I appreciate the compliment. 🙂

  7. oh my, those pictures are breathtaking. i have a soft spot in my heart for mountains and sunrises.

    • Thank you so much for the compliment, Alisha! I seem to remember you come from North Carolina originally. (? Hoping I’m right.) It is *gorgeous* country up there.

  8. Gorgeous shots! They remind me of Monet’s interest in capturing the same scene in different lighting situations.

    • I think I chose to shoot the same spots over and over because I was standing in my socks and afraid to get them wet in the dew-drenched grass — but it’s great that it netted me a comparison to Monet! 😉 (His haystacks blow me away.)

  9. Hi! Woo hoo! Misty mystic fantastic planet we live on. Great pictures.

  10. […] went on a retreat in the Blue Ridge Mountains with my closest […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

