Posted by: mew | October 14, 2009

under the covers

Been spending time reading, cuddled up under a blanket, now that my life is resuming its normal, non-rushed contours and the work in the garden which I’d planned to be doing is on hold while the autumn rains continue to pour down.  If this keeps up, tomorrow is time to bake some bread… maybe even time for the first simmered-all-day-long chicken soup of the chilly season.

It seems like the seasons changed too fast.  Of course, that is just perception.  I’ve known since way back in August that the change was upon us — or at least moving inexorably our way.

Here’s what I’m reading now, in case you’re curious.

Two works by local authors, Ron Rash and Sarah Addison Allen.  (Trying to get to know the locals….)

9780061470844

gardenspells

And this one by Lisa See.  (I really loved Snow Flower and the Secret Fan.)

51oDbbJP7cL

And I am waiting on pins and needles for the arrival any day now of my copy of Diana Gabaldon’s latest.  I am addicted to this series, and totally thrilled that a new volume is available now, when it’s cold and wet and generally the unpleasant kind of weather that makes you want to curl up and do nothing but escape to another world.

image_s4

Thrilled, too, that because I’m caught up on work and nothing to get started on until next week, I have the time to do exactly that.  Plus some artwork, house cleaning, and general puttering and catch-up.  I made three new envelopes and caught up on a bunch of correspondence yesterday.  Those of you who are my snail-mail pals, you can be anticipating something riveting in your mailboxes very soon.  (Or if not precisely riveting, at least not just the usual phone bill and advertising flyer.)

Namasté, y’all!

DSC09527

“She is too fond of books, and it has turned her brain.”

~ Louisa May Alcott

Responses

  1. Love the Outlander series– probably won’t get to read “Echo in the Bone” until it comes out in trade paperback, though. (I have the entire series in trade pb, I’m obsessive that way).

    I just finished Devil’s Brood by Sharon Kay Penman today. Now going to re-read Mists of Avalon by MZ Bradley.

    Books are such good friends.

    • I’ve got all up to A Breath of Snow and Ashes in paperback, too. I tried to get that one at the library when it came out, but it was reserved in advance — so I bought the bullet and bought the hardcover (which I never do!). This one came out on September 22nd, but I was in the midst of, well, everything but reading for pleasure, and so I’m a bit tardy — but sure enough, the library’s copy was long gone by the time I surfaced to check.

      I just cannot wait. I’m that addicted.

      How did you like Mists of Avalon, by the way? I’ve thought about reading that one…

  2. Garden spells, sounds very interesting..

    your life right now sounds beautiful.. rain, autumn, soup.. love that time of year.

    I have Mists of Avalon, but for some reason, I cannot get into it. Have had it for 3 yrs on my bookshelf.

    enjoy week 9 of the AW. xo

    • Thanks 🙂 All of our lives have beauty, I suspect, if we could be enlightened enough to perceive it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

