Posted by: mew | October 9, 2009

you really, really like me

“I love awards, especially if I get them.”

— Ben Gazzara

Imagine my surprise, upon my return from blogging hiatus/feverish deadline-haunted days, to discover I’d been given a little gift.

cohdra_100_8998

Dawn over at IntotheDawn had nominated me for a Kreativ Blogger award – and thereby made my day.  I was so thrilled.  My very first blogging award.

I got an award, y’all!

Thanks for making me feel all sparkly, Dawn.

And here ’tis:

KreativBlogger

Of course, this award comes with strings attached.  They are almost weightless strings, especially when you are floating on air.  Nonetheless, I won’t feel I’ve properly accepted until I complete the requirements.  There’s a requirement that’s easy to fulfill and a requirement that’s rather difficult.

The easy part:  passing the award on to seven other bloggers.  I can think of so many that I enjoy reading and consider “kreativ,” that the only difficult part was narrowing it down to seven.

And the nominees are:

playing connect-the-dots with the universe

Retinal Perspectives

little suitcase

Tales of Inglewood

On a silent sea

From the Desk of Bee Drunken

River Garden Studio

And the hard part?  I have to tell you seven things about me that nobody knows.

Nobody?

Seriously, nobody?  I talk a lot, you know.  Some people would say I babble.  (Some less charitable people would say I run off at the mouth.  I’m not quite yet to the Bridget Jones level of calling it verbal diarrhea.)

I think that’s impossible, so I’ll settle for seven things that no one who knows me via this blog yet knows.  Hmm… here goes:

  1. In high school I had an impressive collection of paint samples just because I liked the words and phrases used to describe all the different colors.
  2. I once spent two days homeless in Paris.  For a long time, I couldn’t forgive Paris.  (Frankly, I still prefer the rest of France.  Who needs Paris?)
  3. My love for paper is nearly an obsession.  When I was a child, I could be bribed to do almost anything with the promise of a new 65-cent spiral notebook, and much later in life, when I was selling custom printing and art paper and stationery, I broke the store’s sales records — and I’m convinced that was because my passion was so intense, it was contagious.  One of my craziest daydreams is to own my own letterpress.  And not because I want to start my own printing business.  No, just so I’d have the most beautiful personal stationery I could imagine, designed by me.
  4. I hate wearing a watch.  It sort of makes me feel like I’m going to vomit when I try it.
  5. This summer in South Carolina, I did not have air conditioning — in my car or home.  And I work out of my home, so I didn’t even get a break at the office.  However, I only thought I was going to die a couple of times.  (Both times while in the kitchen with the oven on.)
  6. Until I took a certain prescription medication for five years, my hair was naturally straight, with maybe the slightest hint of wave at the ends.  Ever afterward, it has been wildly curly.
  7. I bake an outstanding carrot cake.  You might say it’s my baking specialty.  The specialty dessert of Montreal is carrot cake, and yet several Montrealers have agreed that mine was better than any of the local stuff.  I still think Montreal is an amazing city — even if their carrot cake is nothing to write home about, they have some wonderful French restaurants where, for instance, you can order escargots a la bourguignonne.  (Yes, I think snails taste good.  Would I rather eat snails or carrot cake?  I can’t decide, actually.)

Whew, is that it?  Hopefully that was an eclectic enough assortment to keep you reading to the very end.

Oh, and for those of you who just won (feeling sparkly yet?) here are the rules:

  1. Thank the person who gave this to you.
  2. Copy the logo and place it in your blog.
  3. Link the person who nominated you.
  4. Name 7 things about yourself that no one would really know.
  5. Nominate seven ‘Kreativ Bloggers’.
  6. Post links to the seven blogs you nominate.
  7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know you nominated them.

Namasté, y’all!

Responses

  1. I’ll buy you a .65 spiral notebook if you make me a carrot cake 😉

    • Deal. (Oh, no! I can still be bribed :o)

      Seriously, it’s not just the notebook. I’d love to meet you someday, brandi. So if ever I’m in the Lone Star State again, or if ever you’re in the Middle of the Boonies, South Carolina, I’d make that trade 😉

  2. thankyou xo – and I will play along with the 7 things no-one knows ‘cept it will be difficult cause i bare my soul on my blog already.. so will put my thinking cap on..
    but I break the rules when it comes to passing it on as you know..

    • Well, I can’t wait to read them! And yes, I know you break the rules. That’s cool with me. It’s just one more thing to like about you, Robyn.

  3. Oh, wow! I feel very, very sparkly! And you say “namaste, y’all,” too! What a bonus!

    You’ve made my day! My WEEK! Thank you!

    • Do you say “namaste, y’all”??? And here I thought I was being so clever and original, tacking on the regionalism to an eastern wisdom saying.

      I’ve been practicing what I call “silent namaste” for years, starting with a retail job at Christmas where I regularly wanted to ban certain obnoxious folks from the store. Or give them a spanking and/or a public set-down. (Holiday retail not good for my temperament.) A colleague and I agreed to look into the eyes of every customer and say Namaste silently, inside our hearts, for a month, just as an experiment. It totally changed my experience of that job. And now I’ve carried it into everyday life. I especially find it useful to do when I find some person particularly nerve-wracking. (Of course, usually this means they are a mirror for me.)

      Note: I still don’t want to ever have to go back to working in a mall again. It was definitely not for me. Millions of blessings on those who do it and are cut out for such work!

  4. Meredith you made my day (or nearly bedtime here in Australia)….
    I have my mum visiting here and I have not been able to read my blogs or answer my comments and I just wanted to say Thank You so much for the beautiful mention and award.
    You are a treasure. Thank you sweet girl.
    x

  5. Dear Meredith,
    First, I must apologize for being so tardy to collect this generously given and gratefully received award. Thank you!

    Like you, I bake a mean carrot cake, I’ve been temporarily homeless in Paris and I LOVE paper. I would like to know the name of that prescription medicine, please, because I would really, really like curly hair.

    Your pictures are so wonderful. I’ve been browsing through this blog, and also your garden blog. Such a feast for the eyes!

    • Wow… so much in common! Carrot cake, temporary homelessness in gay Paree, and the paper love. Are we soul sisters, maybe? 😉

      Thanks so much for the compliments, and I’m glad you liked your award!

  6. And by the way, I’m Marianne Dashwood. 😉

    • Another of my favorites, Miss Marianne 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

